Directors

Doug Janzen

Chairman & Chief Executive Officer

Doug Janzen has been involved in the Life Sciences industry for the past 19 years. He is currently the Founder and President of Northview Ventures, an organization which invests in and provides strategic advisory services to a number of technology companies. Mr Janzen was part of the founding group of Aequus Pharmaceuticals. Previously, Mr Janzen was President and CEO of Cardiome Pharma, a NASDAQ listed drug development company that raised over $300 million from investors, and completed over $1 billion in licensing deals during his tenure. In 2010, Cardiome’s lead product, Brinavess, was approved and launched in Europe by Merck. Prior to that, he was an investment banker with Cormark Securities, acting as Managing Director of Life Sciences. Mr Janzen is Past Chair of LifeSciences BC, has served as a Director with Biotech Canada and currently sits as a Director on a number of public and private boards. He is a past winner of Business in Vancouver’s Top 40 Under 40 Award.

Anne Stevens, BSc, MHA

Chief Operating Officer & Director

Ms Stevens has over ten years of progressive experience in the Pharmaceutical, Biotech, and Medical Device industry. Anne is the Co-Founder and Senior Partner of Northview Ventures, an entity which invests in and provides strategic advisory services to a number of life sciences companies. Ms Stevens was part of the founding group of Aequus Pharmaceuticals and previously held the title of VP of Corporate Development. Prior to her involvement with Aequus, Ms Stevens served as the Corporate and External Affairs Analyst for Cardiome Pharma, where she was responsible for strategic planning and value analysis of internal R&D. Ms Stevens’ earlier experience includes 5 years with Bayer HealthCare, where she was responsible for the commercial success and business development of a portfolio of products within several key therapeutic areas.

Fotios Plakogiannis, BSc, MS, PhD

Director

Dr. Plakogiannis served the Arnold & Marie Schwartz College of Pharmacy for over 45 years and for 25 years was the Director of the of the Division of Pharmaceutical Sciences of the College. He was instrumental in establishing the Scientific Graduate Division (MS and Ph.D. program) and was the recipient of the TASA Award for Lifetime Achievement at LIU, Founders Award, etc., among other prestigious awards. Dr. Plakogiannis has authored three books and more than 100 research papers with the majority in the area of Transdermal Delivery. He has mentored more than 200 MS and Ph.D. degrees, served as chair of the Academy of Pharmaceutical Sciences Basic Pharmaceutics Section, and has presented his work in the USA and Europe. Dr. Plakogiannis  has been a visiting Professor in a number of universities, including but not limited to Kentucky University and the University of Arizona. In addition, he has served as a consultant for the Pharmaceutical Industry and has served as an expert witness in a number of cases. 

Chris Clark, BA, PgD, CA

Director

Mr. Clark has over 20 years finance and accounting experience in public practice and in public and private companies, most recently focused in the medical device sector. Previous experience includes financial leadership roles with large automotive and telecom firms in which he developed deep expertise in the development and management of sophisticated financial systems. A highly sought after consultant for biotechnology startups, Mr. Clark accepted the role of Chief Financial Officer at Neovasc Inc. and was instrumental in the initial and ongoing development of Neovasc as a publicly traded company. He received his designation as a Chartered Accountant from the Institute of Chartered Accountants of England and Wales and articled with KPMG before moving to Canada from England in 1998. He has an honors degree in Economics from Swansea University and a post graduate diploma from Keble College, Oxford.

Jason Flowerday, MBA, BSc

Director

Mr. Flowerday has two decades of experience in healthcare management and communications. Mr. Flowerday joined Knight Therapeutics Inc. in 2014 in the roll of Vice President Commercial Operations following the successful sale of his company, Orphan Canada, to Knight. In his role as founder and Chief Commercial Officer of Orphan Canada (formerly GARD Therapeutics), Mr. Flowerday funded and led the company through in-licensing and commercializing of its lead products which dealt with genetic and rare diseases. Prior to founding Orphan Canada, Mr. Flowerday established RxMedia Healthcare Communications, leading the company through a period of sustained growth and expansion. Mr. Flowerday holds a Bachelor of Science (Honours) from the University of Toronto and a Masters of Business Administration from Queen’s University.  

Rodoula Plakogiannis, PharmD, BCPS, CLS, FNLA

Director

Dr. Plakogiannis is an Associate Professor of Pharmacy Practice at the Arnold & Marie Schwartz College of Pharmacy since 2002; and Adjunct Associate Professor at NYU Langone Medical Center since 2011. She received both her Bachelor of Science in Pharmacy and traditional Doctor of Pharmacy degrees from the Arnold & Marie Schwartz College of Pharmacy & Health Sciences. Dr. Plakogiannis completed an ASHP-accredited specialized pharmacy residency in primary care at the Bay Pines Veterans Medical Center in Tampa, Fl. She is a Board Certified Pharmacotherapy Specialist, a Diplomat and Fellow of the Accreditation Council for Clinical Lipidology, and a Board Certified Clinical Lipid Specialist. She serves as one of the Board of Directors for the Northeastern Lipid Association and on the Accreditation Council for Clinical Lipidology 's Board of Governors. She also serves as the Adverse Drug Reactions Section Editor for the Journal of Pharmacy Practice. Dr. Plakogiannis has presented on a national level in addition to local seminars,and has been invited to serve as a consultant at the Aegerion and Amarin Lipid Pharmaceuticals Advisory Board meetings, among others.

Hamed Shahbazi, BSc

Director

Mr. Shahbazi is the founder, Chairman, and CEO of TIO Networks, a multi-channel payment solution that specializes in delivering consumer bill payment and other financial services through a variety of automated self-service, retail, point-of-sale, mobile and web-based methodologies. Mr Shahbazi has over 17 years of experience in the technology and financial services industries, has served as a Director for a number of public and private companies and has been recognized for numerous awards and distinctions for his professional work including being recognized as the youngest leader on PROFIT Magazine's PROFIT 100 list in 2003. Mr. Shahbazi earned his Bachelor of Applied Science degree in Civil Engineering from the University of British Columbia in 1997.

CONSEIL D’ADMINISTRATION 

Doug Janzen

Président-directeur général

M. Janzen a travaillé dans l'industrie des sciences de la vie ces 19 dernières années. M. Janzen a fait partie du groupe fondateur de Aequus Pharmaceuticals. Il est actuellement le cofondateur et directeur général de Northview Ventures, une entité qui investit et fournit des services consultatifs stratégiques aux entreprises de sciences de la vie. Avant cela, il occupait le rôle de Président-Directeur Général (PDG) de Cardiome Pharma, une entreprise de développement de médicaments quotée sur NASDAQ qui a recueilli plus de 300$ millions auprès d'investisseurs, et complété plus de 1$ milliard dans des accords de licence durant son mandat. En 2010, principal produit de Cardiome, Brinavess, a été approuvé et commercialisé en Europe par Merck.. Auparavant, M. Janzen était directeur des sciences de la vie à la firme d’investissement Cormark Securities agissant en tant que directeur des sciences de la vie. M. Janzen est ancien président de LifeSciences BC, a servi comme directeur de Biotech Canada et se situe comme directeur sur de plusieurs conseils publics et privés actuellement.
 

Anne Stevens, BSc, MHA

Directeur des opérations

Mme Stevens a plus de 10 ans d'expérience dans l’industrie pharmaceutique, biotechnologique et dans l’industrie des équipements médicaux. Anne est la cofondatrice et l’associé principale de Northview Ventures, une entité qui investit et fournit des services consultatifs stratégiques aux entreprises de sciences de la vie. Mme Stevens faisait partie du groupe fondateur de aequus Pharmaceuticals et occupait auparavant le titre de vice-président du développement corporatif. Avant sa participation à Aequus, Mme Stevens a servi comme analyste d’affaires générales et externes pour Cardiome Pharma, où elle était responsable de la planification stratégique et de l'analyse de la valeur de la recherche et du développement. De plus, elle a passé 5 années avec Bayer HealthCare, où elle était responsable de la réussite commerciale et du développement commercial de plusieurs produits dans des domaines thérapeutiques clés.

Chris Clark, BA, PgD, CA

Directeur

M. Clark a plus de 20 ans d’expérience en milieu de la finance et de la comptabilité dans la pratique publique aussi que dans les entreprises publiques et privées. Plus récemment, il s’est concentré dans le secteur des dispositifs médicaux. Son expérience comprend des rôles de leadership financiers dans les entreprises d’automobile et des télécommunications puissantes. C’est là qu’il a développé une expertise approfondie dans le développement et la gestion des systèmes financiers sophistiqués. Un consultant très recherché pour les startups biotechnologiques, M. Clark a accepté le rôle de directeur financier chez Neovasc Inc., et a joué un rôle important dans le développement initial et continu de Neovasc en tant que société cotée en bourse. Il a reçu sa désignation de comptable agréé de l'Institut des Comptables Agréés de Angleterre et Pays de Galles et a fait son stage chez KPMG avant de déménager au Canada d’Angleterre en 1998. Il a un diplôme baccalauréat spécialisé en économie de l'Université de Swansea et un diplôme d'études supérieures de Keble College en Oxford.

Jason Flowerday, MBA, BSc

Directeur

M. Flowerday dispose de deux décennies d'expérience dans la gestion et la communication des soins de santé. M. Flowerday a rejoint Knight Therapeutics Inc., en 2014 dans le rôle de vice-président des opérations commerciales suivant la vente de son entreprise, Orphan Canada, à Knight Therapeutics Inc. Dans son rôle en tant que fondateur et chef des affaires commerciales de Orphan Canada (anciennement GARD Therapeutics), M. Flowerday a financé et a mené l’entreprise à l’acquisition des licences et à la commercialisation de ses produits dominants qui traitait des maladies rares et génétiques. Avant de fonder Orphan Canada, M. Flowerday a établi RxMedia Healthcare Communications, dirigeant l’entreprise à travers une expansion et une période de croissance soutenue. M. Flowerday à un diplôme baccalauréat avec distinction en sciences de l'Université de Toronto et une maîtrise en administration des entreprises de Queen’s University.

Rodoula Plakogiannis, PharmD, BCPS, CLS, FNLA

Directeur

Dre Plakogiannis est professeure agrégée de pratique de la pharmacie à Arnold & Marie Schwartz College of Pharmacy depuis 2002 ; et professeure agrégée adjointe au Centre Medicale Langone de l’Université de New York depuis 2011. Elle a obtenu ses deux diplômes, un baccalauréat en sciences en pharmacie et un doctorat traditionnel en pharmacie, à Arnold & Marie Schwartz College of Pharmacy. Dre Plakogiannis a complété une résidence en pharmacie spécialisée et accréditée par l’ASHP dans les soins primaires au Bay Pines Veterans Medical centre qui se trouve à Tampa en Floride. Elle est un spécialiste en pharmacothérapie certifiée, une diplomate et membre du conseil d'accréditation pour le lipidologie clinique, et une spécialiste des lipides cliniques certifiée. Elle a aussi siégé au conseil d’administration pour le Northeastern Lipid Association et pour le conseil d'accréditation pour le lipidologie clinique. De plus, elle sert comme rédactrice pour la section des effets indésirables pour la revue Journal of Pharmacy Practice. Dre Plakogiannis a présenté au niveau national aussi qu’en séminaires locaux, et a été invité à servir en tant que consultant aux réunions d’Aegerion and d’Amarin Lipid Pharmaceuticals Advisory Board, parmi d’autres.

Fotios Plakoiannis, BSc, MS, PhD

Directeur

Dr Plakogiannis a servi le Arnold & Marie Schwartz College of Pharmacy depuis plus de 45 ans et pour 25 ans il était leur directeur de la division des sciences pharmaceutiques. Il a contribué à la création de la division des études scientifiques supérieures (programme de maitrise et doctorat). Récipiendaire de plusieurs prix prestigieux, il a notamment été le bénéficière du prix TASA pour l’ensemble des réalisations à l’Université de Long Island ainsi que le prix Founders. Dr Plakogiannis est l'auteur de trois livres et plus de 100 articles scientifiques dont la majorité dans le domaine de l'administration transdermique. Il a encadré plus de 200 étudiants de maitrise and doctorat, servi en tant que président de l'Académie des Sciences Pharmaceutiques dans la section pharmacie fondamentale, et a présenté son travail aux Etats-Unis et en Europe. Dr Plakogiannis a été professeur invité dans de nombreuses universités, notamment à l'Université de Kentucky et l'Université de Arizona. De plus, il a servi en tant que consultant dans l'industrie pharmaceutique et à titre de témoin expert plusieurs fois.