AQS1301

AQS1301 is designed to be a once-weekly transdermal form of aripiprazole.

Aripiprazole is an atypical antipsychotic, most commonly used in its oral formulation for the treatment of CNS disorders including schizophrenia, bipolar I disorder, major depressive disorder (MDD), and irritability associated with autistic disorder. The currently approved oral formulation, Abilify™, is one of the top three anti-psychotic agents used worldwide.

Lack of adherence to antipsychotics is a serious issue that can lead to worsening of symptoms, relapse, suicidal attempts, repeated emergency room visits or re-hospitalization, and poor functional outcomes, particularly in schizophrenia. The rate of non-adherence to atypical antipsychotic medications in schizophrenia has been reported to be over 40%, of which, 69% have been shown to suffer a psychotic relapse. A  long-acting transdermal alternative of aripiprazole is being developed by Aequus with the intention of improving patient compliance. 

A total of over 220 U.S. psychiatrists have participated in Aequus’ market research to further understand the medical need for a once-weekly transdermal alternative to oral aripiprazole. The main findings of the market research to date have been:

    • Medication adherence is a substantial problem with oral antipsychotics;
    • The reversibility of the patch makes it the preferred long acting formulation in the event of a patient's adverse reaction to the drug; and
    • Painful injections deter patients from switching to currently approved long-acting injectable formulations.

Market Need

BIPOLAR I DISORDER

Bipolar I disorder is characterized by periods of severe mood episodes oscillating between mania and depression. Treatment of the disorder focuses on acute stabilization of mood and prevention of relapse. The risk of relapse in bipolar disorder has a potential compounding effect, where each additional relapse is documented to be more frequent, more severe, and increasingly more difficult to treat. Bipolar I Disorder has a 12-month prevalence of ~0.6%, affecting an estimated 1.7 million Americans in 2015. -  (read more...)


AUTISTIC DISORDER

Autism Spectrum Disorder (ASD) is characterized by limited social interaction and communication skills, stereotyped and repetitive behaviors, and a low interest in activities or play. It is a lifelong disorder, usually diagnosed in childhood. Awareness of ASD is increasing and diagnostic criteria have been expanding; currently the 12-month prevalence is ~1.5%, affecting an estimated 3.8 million Americans in 2015.  -  (read more...)

 

SCHIZOPHRENIA

Classified as a mental disorder, schizophrenia patients experience both positive and negative symptoms. Positive symptoms include psychotic behaviours such as hallucinations and delusions that vary in severity. Negative symptoms are disruptions to normal emotions and behaviours such as lack of expression and lack of ability to begin or sustain planned activities. Treatment of schizophrenia is focused on suppressing dopamine receptor activity through anti-psychotic medication. Schizophrenia has a 12-month prevalence of ~1%, affecting an estimated 3 million Americans in 2015. -  (read more...)

AQS1301

AQS1301 est conçu pour être un formulation transdermique hebdomadaire de l'aripiprazole

Aripiprazole est un médicament antipsychotique atypique, le plus souvent utilisé dans sa formulation orale pour le traitement des troubles du système nerveux central, incluant la schizophrénie, le trouble bipolaire I, le trouble dépressif majeur (TDM), et l'irritabilité associée aux troubles autistiques. La formulation orale approuvée, Abilify ™, est un des trois meilleurs agents antipsychotiques disponibles au monde.

La non-observance des médicaments antipsychotiques est un problème grave qui peut mener à l'aggravation de symptômes, la rechute, les tentatives de suicide, des visites aux salles d'urgence répétées ou la re-hospitalisation, et les mauvais résultats fonctionnels, notamment avec la schizophrénie. Le taux de non-observance des médicaments antipsychotiques atypiques avec la schizophrénie est plus de 40 %, et 69 % d’eux font une rechute psychotique. Une alternative transdermique de l’aripiprazole de longue durée d'action est en cours d’élaboration par Aequus pour aborder ce grave problème.

Un total de plus de 220 psychiatres américains ont participé à l'étude de marché tenu par Aequus pour mieux comprendre la nécessité médicale d’une solution transdermique hebdomadaire pour remplacer l’usage de l’aripiprazole par voie orale. Les conclusions principales de l'étude de marché a été:

    • L’observance des médicaments antipsychotiques oraux est un problème grave;
    • Une formulation transdermique de l'aripiprazole est préférable aux autres alternatives de longue durée d'action à cause de la réversibilité du solution transdermique au cas que le patient subitun évènement indésirable; et
    • Des injections douloureuses dissuadent les patients de passer aux médicaments de longue durée d'action déjà approuvés en formulation injectable.
 

Le besoin du marché 

 

LE TROUBLE BIPOLAR I

Le trouble bipolaire I est caractérisé par des épisodes de sautes d’humeur sévères, de la manie jusqu’à la dépression. Le traitement de la maladie se concentre sur la stabilisation aiguë de l'humeur et sur la prévention de la rechute. Le risque de rechute dans le trouble bipolaire a un effet cumulatif potentiel, dont chaque rechute supplémentaire atteste d’être plus fréquent, plus sévère, et de plus en plus difficile à traiter. La prévalence sur 12 mois est ~0,6 %, affectant environ 1,7 million d'Américains en 2015. -   (lire la suite...)

LE TROUBLE AUTISTIQUE

Les troubles du spectre autistique (TSA) sont caractérisés par des limitations en interaction sociale et compétences de communication, des comportements stéréotypés et répétitifs, et un manque d'intérêt dans les activités et les jeux. Il est un trouble permanent, d’habitude diagnostiqué au cours de l'enfance. La sensibilisation des TSA augment et les critères diagnostiques sont en expansion aussi ; actuellement la prévalence sur 12 mois est ~1,5 %, affectant environ 3,8 millions d'Américains en 2015. - (lire la suite...)

LA SCHIZOPHRÉNIe

Les patients schizophrènes souffrent des symptômes à la fois positif et négatif. Les symptômes positifs incluent des comportements psychotiques, comme les hallucinations et des délires, qui varient en gravité. Les symptômes négatifs sont des perturbations aux émotions normales et les comportements tels que le manque d'expression et l’incapacité de commencer ou de soutenir des activités prévues. Le traitement de la schizophrénie se concentre sur la suppression de l'activité du récepteur de dopamine par voie des médicaments antipsychotiques. La prévalence sur 12 mois est ~1 %, affectant environ 3 millions d'Américains en 2015. -  (lire la suite...)