Autistic DISORDER

Autistic Disorder has a 12-month prevalence of ~1.5% and affects approximately 3.8 million people in the US 

Overview

Autism Spectrum Disorder (ASD) is a lifelong developmental disability characterized by limited social interaction and communication skills, stereotyped and repetitive behaviors, and a low interest in activities or play. Initial signs and symptoms are typically apparent in the early developmental period, however social deficits and behavioural patterns may not be recognized as symptoms of ASD until a child is unable to meet social, educational, occupational, or other important life stage milestones. Functional limitations vary among persons with ASD and might develop over time.

The prevalence of ASD has increased significantly in recent years, with most recent estimates between 1% - 2% of all children. The underlying reasons for the apparent increase in prevalence have been difficult to study empirically, however it is suggested to be the result of multiple factors, including: greater awareness and recognition of, an expansion in the diagnostic criteria and increased services available for patients and caregivers. 

 

Current Treatment

Treatments for the core symptoms of Autistic Disorder are typically focused on non-pharmacologic options such as Psychological Interventions, Speech Therapy, Occupational Therapy, Pivotal Response Treatment (ABA-based therapy) and dietary and nutritional interventions. There are limited prescription medications approved in pediatric patients. Atypical antipsychotics as a class have demonstrated effectiveness in managing behaviors such as tantrums, aggression, self-injurious behavior, or a combination of these problems. Aripiprazole and risperidone are the two FDA-approved atypical antipsychotics for irritability associated with Autistic Disorder. Approximately 56% of children with ASD use at least one psychotropic medication.

 

Unmet Medical Needs

Adherence to treatment varies by the type of intervention that is implemented. Behavioural and developmental treatments, for example, may have a greater impact on family routines, require greater resources to implement and have been associated with lower adherence rates compared to pharmacotherapy. Despite this, medication adherence in the pediatric ASD population remains a significant challenge, with estimated medication adherence to antipsychotics at a rate of 52%. A once-weekly transdermal alternative could address this challenge by improving ease of administration for both patients and caregivers.

LE TROUBLE AUTISTIQUE

Le trouble autistique a une prévalence sur 12 mois de ~1,5 %, affectant environ 3,8 millions de personnes aux Etats-Unis. 

Sommaire

Le trouble du spectre autistique (TSA) est un trouble lié au développement permanent caractérisé par des limitations en interaction sociale et compétences de communication, des comportements stéréotypés et répétitifs, et un manque d'intérêt dans les activités et les jeux. Les signes et les symptômes initiaux sont généralement apparents tôt dans la période de développement, mais les déficits sociaux et les comportements ne peuvent pas être reconnus comme symptômes de TSA jusqu'à ce que l’enfant est incapable de répondre aux besoins sociaux, d'éducation, de travail, ou autre étapes de la vie importantes. Des limitations fonctionnelles varient selon les personnes atteintes de TSA et ont la possibilité de se développer plus sévères au fil du temps.

La prévalence de TSA a considérablement augmenté au cours des dernières années, avec des données récentes qui montrent entre 1% - 2% de tous les enfants sont affectés. La raison d’augmentation en taux de prévalence a été difficile d'étudier de manière empirique, mais on peut croire que c’est à cause de multiple facteurs, y compris: sensibilisation accrue de TSA, une expansion dans les critères de diagnostic et plus de services disponibles pour les patients et les soignants.

 

Le traitement en cours

Les traitements pour les symptômes principaux du trouble autistique sont généralement axés sur les options non-pharmacologiques. Par exemple, des interventions psychologiques, l’orthophonie, l’ergothérapie, l’analyse comportementale appliquée, et des interventions de nutrition. Des médicaments d'ordonnance approuvés existent en limite pour les patients pédiatriques. Des médicaments antipsychotiques atypiques ont démontré leur efficacité dans la gestion des comportements incluant des crises de colère, l’agression, les comportements d'automutilation, ou une combinaison de ces problèmes. L'aripiprazole et le rispéridone sont les deux médicaments antipsychotiques atypiques approuvés par le FDA pour l'irritabilité associée aux troubles autistiques. Environ 56 % des enfants atteints de TSA prennent au moins un des médicaments psychotropes.

 

Unmet Medical Needs

L'observance thérapeutique varie selon le type d'intervention qui est mis en œuvre. Par exemple, les traitements de comportement et les traitements de développement peuvent avoir un grand impact sur la vie familiale, ils ont besoin de plusieurs ressources en soutien, et ils ont été associés à des taux d'observance inférieurs par rapport à la pharmacothérapie. Malgré cela, l'observance reste un défi de taille pour la population pédiatrique atteint de TSA, avec un taux de 52% d’observance aux médicaments antipsychotiques. Une alternative transdermique hebdomadaire pourrait relever ce défi en améliorant l'administration pour les patients et les soignants.