Aequus Pharmaceuticals has a pipeline of commercial and near-commercial-stage products that have been brought in through an acquisition or license to be marketed and sold in Canada. This commercial pipeline consists of specialty products and forms the base for niche therapeutic franchises we plan to expand into it. We will continue to in-license and/or acquire high quality, differentiated products within these focused therapeutic areas. To learn more about our partnering strategy, click here.

Aequus' development-stage products are strategically focused on addressing the need for improved medication adherence through enhanced delivery systems. Our lead programs are expected to follow a 505(b)2 pathway to approval in the United States. We intend to commercialize these products directly in Canada using our established CNS sales force and through partners in other territories.

 

PRVISTITANTM - (bimatoprost 0.03%, ophthalmic solution)
Bimatoprost 0.03% is a prostaglandin approved for the reduction of elevated IOP in patients with open angle glaucoma or ocular hypertension. PRVISTITANTM is currently the only marketed version of 0.03% bimatoprost ophthalmic solution for this indication in Canada and demonstrates that best ratio of safety to efficacy for this strength of the molecule. Aequus began Canadian promotional activities on behalf of its partner, for PRVISTITANTM in May 2016.

Tacrolimus Immediate Release
Aequus began promotional activities on Tacrolimus IR in December 2015. It was and remains the only lower cost alternative to the brand Prograf® currently marketed in Canada. Tacrolimus IR is indicated for the treatment and prevention of acute rejection following solid organ transplantation (liver, kidney and heart). Tacrolimus is part of a patient’s immunosuppressive therapy prescribed chronically in their lifelong management to prevent graft rejection.

Topiramate XR
A once-daily topiramate product designed to improve patient compliance and to show an equivalent pharmacokinetic profile than the currently available immediate release products, which is dosed twice-daily. Aequus in-licensed Canadian commercial rights to Topiramate XR from Supernus Pharmaceuticals and is currently preparing an application to Health Canada seeking approval. Topiramate immediate release is currently approved in Canada for use in epilepsy and prophylactic migraine.

Oxcarbazepine XR
A once-daily oxcarbazepine product designed to improve patient compliance with a novel pharmacokinetic profile and more consistent blood levels compared to immediate release products. Aequus in-licensed Canadian commercial rights to Oxcarbazepine XR from Supernus Pharmaceuticals and is currently preparing an application to Health Canada seeking approval. Oxcarbazepine immediate release is currently approved in Canada for use in partial seizures in epilepsy.

AQS1301 – Transdermal Aripiprazole
Aripiprazole is an atypical anti-psychotic sold under the brand name Abilify® and is approved for many neurological conditions including schizophrenia, bipolar I, and major depressive disorder. A long-acting transdermal form of aripiprazole is being developed by Aequus to deliver aripiprazole at levels comparable to currently marketed once-daily formulations with the intention of improving patient compliance and providing better outcomes. Aequus has completed two-proof of concept studies for this potential product to date, and intends to pursue a 505(b)2 pathway for regulatory approval in the United States.

AQS1302 – Transdermal Clobazam
Clobazam is a unique anti-epileptic oral drug sold under the brand name Frisium® for the treatment of epilepsy, anxiety, and alcohol withdrawal. A long acting transdermal form of clobazam is being developed by Aequus to consistently deliver clobazam over a multi-day period at levels comparable to currently marketed once-daily formulations with the intention of improving patient compliance and providing better outcomes. Aequus intends to pursue a 505(b)2 pathway for regulatory approval in the United States.

AQS1303 – Transdermal Pyridoxine/Doxylamine
Pyridoxine/doxylamine is currently marketed as Diclegis® (United States)/Diclectin® (Canada) for the treatment of Nausea and Vomiting of Pregnancy. It is taken orally, dosed up to four times per day. A long-acting transdermal form of pyridoxine/doxylamine is being developed by Aequus to address the risk of missed doses due to emesis (vomiting), provide consistent symptomatic relief, ease pill burden, and improve compliance. Aequus is preparing for its first Proof of Concept study for this product, and intends to pursue a 505(b)2 pathway for regulatory approval in the United States.

AQS1304 – Transdermal Medical Cannabis
Medical cannabis is lacking in three main categories - dose delivery, dose consistency, and clinical data support. Aequus’ cannabinoid transdermal patch program is being developed to directly address these barriers. Throughout development Aequus will be working closely with patients and physicians with the goal to provide a cannabinoid product that is safe, consistent, targeted, and effective.

 

*Currently marketed in the United States by Supernus Pharmaceuticals. Aequus expects to file for regulatory submission in Canada in 2017.
1 Aequus carries out the Canadian promotional activity for tacrolimus IR and Vistitan™ 
TM: Trademark owned or used under license by Sandoz Canada Inc. 
TDS = Transdermal Delivery System
Tacrolimus IR (tacrolimus immediate release capsules) is indicated for the prophylaxis of organ rejection in patients receiving allogenic liver, kidney or heart transplants and for the treatment of refractory rejection in patients receiving allogenic liver, kidney or heart transplants. For more information, please refer to the product monograph
Vistitan™ (bimatoprost ophthalmic solution 0.03% w/v) is indicated for the reduction of elevated intraocular pressure in patients with open angle glaucoma or ocular hypertension. For more information, please refer to the product monograph

Aequus Pharmaceuticals possède un portefeuille de produits commerciaux et quasi-commerciale stade qui ont été apportés par le biais d'une acquisition ou d'une licence pour être commercialisés et vendus au Canada. Ce pipeline commercial se compose de produits de spécialité et constitue la base des franchises à niche thérapeutique que nous avons l'intention d'élargir. Nous continuerons à étendre notre portfolio commercial grâce à des acquisitions et des licences axées sur les marchés spécialisés des hôpitaux du Canada, ce qui comprend des produits brevetés, des produits génériques de marque et de nouveaux produits reformulés destinés à des domaines thérapeutiques ciblés. Pour en savoir plus à propos de notre stratégie de partenariat , cliquez ici.

La recherche et développement (R-D) pipeline d'Aequus Pharmaceuticals est consacré à répondre à la nécessité d’une meilleure observance thérapeutique avec des méthodes de livraisons plus efficaces. Il est prévu que ces programmes suivent un parcours 505(b)2 pour obtenir l’approbation aux États-Unis. Nous visons à commercialiser ces produits directement au Canada, et par le biais de partenaires situés dans d'autres territoires.

PRVISTITANTM - (bimatoprost 0.03%, solution ophtalmique)

Bimatoprost 0,03% est une prostaglandine approuvée pour la réduction de la PIO élevée chez les patients atteints de glaucome à angle ouvert ou d'hypertension oculaire. PRVISTITANTM est actuellement la seule solution commercialisée de 0,03% de solution ophtalmique bimatoprost pour cette indication au Canada et démontre le meilleur rapport entre sécurité et efficacité pour cette force de la molécule. Aequus a commencé ses activités promotionnelles au nom de son partenaire pour PRVISTITANTM en mai 2016.

Tacrolimus Diffusion Immédiate

Aequus a commencé ses activités de promotion sur Tacrolimus IR en décembre 2015. Il était et reste la seule alternative moins coûteuse à la marque Prograf® actuellement commercialisée au Canada. Le Tacrolimus IR est indiqué pour le traitement et la prévention du rejet aigu après la transplantation d'organes solides (foie, rein et coeur). Le tacrolimus fait partie d'une thérapie immunosuppresseur d'un patient prescrite de manière chronique dans sa gestion à vie pour prévenir le rejet de greffe.

Topiramate XR

Un produit topiramate une fois par jour conçu pour améliorer la conformité du patient et montrer un profil pharmacocinétique équivalent à celui des produits de libération immédiate actuellement disponibles, qui est administré deux fois par jour. Aequus sous licence des droits commerciaux canadiens de Topiramate XR auprès de Supernus Pharmaceuticals et prépare actuellement une demande à Santé Canada en vue de son approbation. La mise en circulation immédiate de Topiramate est actuellement approuvée au Canada pour l'épilepsie et la migraine prophylactique.

Oxcarbazepine XR

Un produit d'oxcarbazépine une fois par jour conçu pour améliorer la conformité du patient avec un nouveau profil pharmacocinétique et des niveaux sanguins plus cohérents par rapport aux produits de libération immédiate. Les droits commerciaux canadiens autorisés d'Aequus à Oxcarbazepine XR de Supernus Pharmaceuticals et préparent actuellement une demande à Santé Canada en vue de l'approbation. La libération immédiate d'oxcarbazépine est actuellement approuvée au Canada pour une utilisation dans des crises partielles d'épilepsie.

AQS1301 - Aripiprazole Transdermique 

L'aripiprazole est un anti-psychotique atypique vendu sous le nom de marque Abilify® et est approuvé pour de nombreuses affections neurologiques, y compris la schizophrénie, le trouble bipolaire et le trouble dépressif majeur. Une forme transdermique à longue durée d'action de l'aripiprazole est développée par Aequus pour délivrer de l'aripiprazole à des niveaux comparables aux formulations une fois par jour actuellement commercialisées dans le but d'améliorer la conformité des patients et d'obtenir de meilleurs résultats. Aequus a terminé deux études sur la preuve de ce produit potentiel à ce jour et a l'intention de poursuivre une voie 505 (b) 2 pour l'approbation réglementaire aux États-Unis.

AQS1302 - Clobazam Transdermique

Clobazam est un médicament oral anti-épileptique unique vendu sous le nom de marque Frisium® pour le traitement de l'épilepsie, de l'anxiété et du retrait d'alcool. Une forme transdermique de clobazam à longue durée de vie est développée par Aequus pour fournir constamment du clobazam sur une période de plusieurs jours à des niveaux comparables aux formulations une fois par jour actuellement commercialisées dans le but d'améliorer la conformité des patients et de fournir de meilleurs résultats. Aequus a l'intention de poursuivre une voie 505 (b) 2 pour l'approbation réglementaire aux États-Unis.

AQS1303 - Pyridoxine/Doxylamine Transdermique

La pyridoxine / doxylamine est actuellement commercialisée comme Diclegis® (États-Unis) / Diclectin® (Canada) pour le traitement des nausées et des vomissements de la grossesse. Il est pris par voie orale, administré jusqu'à quatre fois par jour. Une forme transdermique à durée prolongée de pyridoxine / doxylamine est développée par Aequus pour remédier au risque de doses manquées en vomissements, fournir un soulagement symptomatique constant, alléger le fardeau de pilule et améliorer la conformité. Aequus prépare sa première étude sur la preuve de concept pour ce produit et a l'intention de suivre une voie 505 (b) 2 pour l'approbation réglementaire aux États-Unis.

AQS1304 - Cannabis Médical Transdermique

Le cannabis médical manque de trois catégories principales: l'administration de doses, la cohérence de la dose et le soutien aux données cliniques. Le programme de patch transdermique cannabinoïde d'Aequus est en cours d'élaboration pour résoudre directement ces obstacles. Tout au long du développement, Aequus travaillera en étroite collaboration avec les patients et les médecins dans le but de fournir un produit cannabinoïde sûr, cohérent, ciblé et efficace.

 

*Ces produits sont actuellement commercialisés aux États-Unis par Supernus Pharmaceuticals. Aequus prévoit déposer pour l’approbation réglementaire au canada en 2017

1 Aequus réalise l’activité de promotion canadienne pour tacrolimus IR and Vistitan™ 
TM: Marque de commerce détenue ou utilisée sous licence par Sandoz Canada Inc. 
SDT = Système de délivrance transdermique
Tacrolimus IR
(tacrolimus immediate release capsules) is indicated for the prophylaxis of organ rejection in patients receiving allogenic liver, kidney or heart transplants and for the treatment of refractory rejection in patients receiving allogenic liver, kidney or heart transplants. For more information, please refer to the product monograph
Vistitan™ (bimatoprost ophthalmic solution 0.03% w/v) est indiqué pour réduire la presssion intraoculaire élevée chez les patients atteints de glaucoma à angle ouvert or d'hypertension oculaire. Pour plus d'informations, référez-vous à la monographie de produit