BIPOLAR I DISORDER

Bipolar I Disorder affects ~0.6% of the general population, representing approximately 1.7 million people in the US

Overview

Bipolar disorder can be characterized by periods of severe mood episodes, oscillating between mania and depression. Manic episodes may include elevated mood or extreme irritability, and behavioural changes such as being unusually distracted, overly restless, having unrealistic belief in own abilities, or being impulsive and engaging in pleasurable, high risk behaviours. Depressive episodes may include overly long periods of being in a depressed mood as well as behavioural changes such as feeling overly tired, having problems concentrating, remembering and making decisions, loss of interest in activities once enjoyed and suicidal ideations. According to the criteria defined in DSM-IV-TR, patients with bipolar I disorder will have experienced at least one episode of mania; they may have experienced mixed, hypomanic and depressive episodes as well. Patients with bipolar II disorder have experienced hypomanic and depressive episodes. The suicide rate in the bipolar disorder population is 20x higher than the general population. 


Current Treatment

Treatment of bipolar disorder is focused on acute stabilization of mood and on prevention of relapse. First-line therapy for more severe manic or mixed episodes involves the initiation of either lithium plus an antipsychotic or valproate plus an antipsychotic. For mild to moderate episodes, monotherapy with lithium, valproate, or an antipsychotic may be sufficient. Atypical antipsychotics, such as aripiprazole, are preferred over typical antipsychotics due to their lower side effect profile. Depressive episodes are treated first-line with either lithium or lamotrigine. Antidepressant monotherapy is not recommended, but may be used as adjunctive therapy in more severe patients.

Following remission of an acute episode, patients remain at particularly high risk of relapse for a period of up to 6 months; this phase of treatment is referred to as either the continuation or maintenance phase. A medication that was used to achieve remission from the most recent episode, generally should be continued. During the maintenance phase, patients with bipolar disorder are likely to benefit from a psychosocial intervention concomitant to their prescribed pharmacotherapy, such as psychotherapy that addresses adherence, lifestyle changes, and early detection of symptoms. Patients who continue to experience breakthrough mood episodes may require the addition of another maintenance medication.

 

Unmet Medical Needs

 

Non-adherence to medication is a major problem in Bipolar I patients and is one of the highest contributing factors to relapse. Approximately 51.9% of Bipolar Disorder patients are adherent to their medications; non-adherence has substantial consequences in Bipolar Disorder as with each additional episode a patient suffers, the next is documented to be more frequent, more severe, and increasingly more difficult to treat.  A once-weekly transdermal alternative could address this challenge by improving ease of administration for patients.

LE TROUBLE BIPOLAIRE I

Le trouble bipolaire I affecte environ 0,6 % de la population générale. Cela représente environ 1,7 millions de personnes aux États-Unis

Sommaire

Le trouble bipolaire I peut être caractérisé par des périodes d'épisodes de troubles de l'humeur sévères qui oscillent entre la manie et la dépression. Les épisodes maniaques peuvent inclure l’élévation de l'humeur ou l'irritabilité extrême, et des changements comportementales tels que étant inhabituellement distrait, trop agité, ayant croyances peu réalistes en ses propres capacités, ou même s’engageant aux comportements impulsifs et à haut risque. Les épisodes dépressifs peuvent inclure des périodes prolongés d'être dans une humeur dépressive ainsi que des changements comportementales tels que de se sentir trop fatigué, ayant des problèmes de concentration, des problèmes avec la mémoire, la difficulté à prendre décision, la perte d'intérêt aux activités autrefois aimés et des idées suicidaires. Selon le critères définis au DSM-IV-TR, les patients atteints de trouble bipolaire I ont connu au moins un épisode de manie. C’est possible qu’ils ont aussi eu l’expérience des épisodes mixtes, hypomaniaques et dépressifs. Les patients atteints de trouble bipolaire II ont connu des épisodes hypomaniaques et dépressifs. Le taux de suicide dans la population de trouble bipolaire est 20 fois plus élevé qu’en la population générale.

 

La traitement en cours 

Le traitement du trouble bipolaire se concentre sur la stabilisation aiguë de l'humeur et sur la prévention de la rechute. Le traitement de première intention pour les épisodes maniaques ou mixtes plus sévères implique le début du traitement de lithium avec un médicament antipsychotique ou même le valproate avec un médicament antipsychotique. Pour les épisodes légers ou modérés, la monothérapie soit avec le lithium, le valproate, ou un antipsychotique peuvent suffire. Les médicaments antipsychotiques atypiques, notamment l'aripiprazole, sont préférés aux médicaments antipsychotiques typiques parce qu’ils ont un profil d’effet secondaire plus faible. Le traitement de première intention pour les épisodes dépressifs implique le traitement soit avec du lithium ou avec le lamotrigine. La monothérapie antidépresseur n’est pas recommandée, mais peut être utilisée comme thérapie adjuvante dans les cas plus graves.

Suite à une rémission d'un épisode aigu, les patients restent en risque élevé de rechute jusqu'à 6 mois après la crise. Cette phase de traitement s’appelle soit la phase de continuation ou la phase d’entretien. Généralement, le traitement ayant mené à la rémission est maintenu. En phase d'entretien, les patients bipolaires bénéficieronnt d’une intervention psychosociale concomitante à leur pharmacothérapie. Par exemple, les psychothérapies qui abordent l’observance, les changements de mode de vie, et la détection précoce des symptômes. Les patients qui continuent d'éprouver des épisodes de sauts d’humeur peuvent nécessiter l'ajout d'un autre médicament d'entretien.

 

Besoins médicaux non satisfaits 

La non-observance aux médicaments est un problème grave chez les patients qui souffrent de trouble bipolaire I et est un des facteurs plus pertinents à la rechute. Environ 51,9 % des patients atteints de trouble bipolaire sont adhérents à leurs médicaments. La non-observance pour les patients atteints de la maladie bipolaire est un problème grave car avec chaque rechute supplémentaire souffert, la suivante est documentée être plus fréquente, plus sévère, et plusdifficile à traiter. Une alternative transdermique hebdomadaire pourrait relever ce défi en améliorant la facilité d’administration pour les patients.